RSS Feed

Only to me! (part 1)

Posted on

baby 3

Before we married my fabby hubby brought me a bag from London. I loved it
so much. It was a dark green shopper bag with golden letters.
At that time I hadn’t been yet to UK and I craved for a touch of British fashion in my closet.
I ditched all the other bags and I started to carry that bag everywhere.
One day after buying some stuff in a supermarket, while I was leaving the store the alarm rang loudly.
A security man asked to check my bag. Of course he didn’t find anything. I discovered after that
everything happened because the bag  wasn’t properly untagged.
It was the most embarassing moment of my life. Needless to say, since then I avoided to go back shopping
there if it wasn’t necessary. When I did go there
I could feel the suspicious looks of the clerks. You know, my home town is very small and everyone
remembers a thing like that for ages.
Upon returning to my home town recently, I decided that it was the right time to go back shopping there.
I thought: Come on, I’m a working mom, I live in Florence, I have my own life. It’s ridiculous feeling
low for a misunderstanding happened years ago.
So I crossed the door again with a big smile on my face and my Chanel bag, pushing the stroller with my son.
My confidence weakened a bit after my little boy started jumping up and down in the stroller and screaming,
but I found myself able to have a chat about our kids with the cashier.
I payed, I put my items in the plastic bags and then I said goodbye.
I’ve just pushed the stroller out in the street when my boy taps my jacket with his little finger.
At that point I noticed a Mickey Mouse soap in his hands. A soap that I didn’t pay for.
Oh God! All over again!
babyDurante il nostro fidanzamento, il mio favoloso maritino mi regalò una borsa comprata a Londra.
Era carinissima. Una shopping verde scuro con delle grandi lettere dorate e, poichè all’epoca
non ero ancora stata nel Regno Unito, mi sembrò perfetta per aggiungere un tocco british al mio look. Cominciai a indossarla ogni
giorno, quando  accadde che in un supermercato, mentre uscivo con la mia bella shopping al braccio,
l’allarme cominciò a suonare.
Gli impiegati accorsero immediatamente e un tizio della sicurezza mi chiese di consegnargliela per un controllo.
Ovviamente non trovò nulla. In seguito scoprii che era stata la stessa borsa a far scattare l’allarme, perchè,
quando era stata acquistata, la sua etichetta non era stata smagnetizzata a dovere.
In tutta onestà, è stato il momento più imbarazzante della mia vita. Inutile aggiungere che da quel momento
ho evitato di far compere in quel super, se non era strettamente necessario. Tanto più che le poche volte che ci sono ricapitata, vedevo le occhiate diffidenti che mi lanciavano le commesse. Dopotutto la mia cittadina è piuttosto piccola e faccende come queste possono stamparsi nella memoria delle persone per sempre.
Pochi giorni fa, essendo tornata a casa, ho deciso che era arrivato il momento di tornare lì a testa alta e superare una volta per tutte quell’increscioso episodio. Sono una mamma che lavora, vivo da anni a Firenze, cosa mi potrebbero fare? mi sono detta.
Quindi ho esibito il mio sorriso più affascinante e, munita di una borsa Chanel che riservo alle grandi occasioni, ho varcato ancora l’odiata soglia con passeggino e bimbo al seguito.
La sicurezza che nutrivo in me stessa è venuta un po’ meno, dopo che mio figlio ha cominciato a saltare su e giù dal passeggino e a gridare selvaggiamente tra gli scaffali, ma sono stata comunque in grado di
attaccar bottone con la cassiera a proposito dei rispettivi pargoli.
Tutta soddisfatta, ho pagato, ho messo la merce in busta e mi sono diretta all’uscita, sicura di aver riguadagnato la fiducia dell’intero staff.
Ero ancora  davanti alle vetrine del negozio, quando il mio piccolo mi ha fatto toc toc col ditino sulla giacca.
Inorridita, ho notato che stringeva tra le mani un sapone di Topolino.  Un sapone che non avevo pagato.
O mio Dio! Tutto da rifare!
baby 2

About Celeste

An italian lover of style and elegance sharing her passions and her positive thoughts. Una italiana, che ama vivere con stile ed eleganza, condivide le sue passioni e le sue riflessioni sulla felicità.

6 responses »

  1. Made me smile. Sweetly written and rather lovely. What’d you do with that bar of soap,lol? Paulette

    Reply
  2. Lovely post and the little boy is so cute 🙂

    Reply
    • He’s not my boy of course…as an Italian mom, I’m a little bit jealous of my baby’s pictures.
      He is blond too, with green eyes and long curly hair.

      Reply
  3. Ha! Kids are great for that, aren’t they?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

