RSS Feed

A step back, please!

Posted on

talented

Dear readers, I’m incredibly sorry for not having posted anything in the last month.
Forgive me, but I’ve lost myself in a writing loop. To be true, I’m sure that I lost myself long ago.
Luckily I’m found now.
I struggled to finish and edit my novels in two years of daily writing. I can’t count how many things I missed, after I decided to dedicate myself to my writing projects. I just have this image of myself
writing at the PC with my son playing on his chair next to me.
I’ve been writing everyday, starting in the early morning when the rest of the family slept,
and I did it on Sunday, at Christmas, at Easter too.
I just took a little break last Summer when it was too hot to stay focused on my work.
I’m not a heroine, but I found a strong motivation when I saw some people working in the publishing world giving attention to my stories.
I just wanted to fulfill their expectations. I wanted them thinking that I’m what they searched for.
And I said yes, yes and yes again. Yes to their requests,
yes to their schedules, yes to their point of view.
I believed in every word that they said. I thought: They are what they are and I’m nothing, they must be right.
Do you know what? At one point I’ve realized that I was missing my true goals trying to model myself in regards to their desires. Their project was not longer my project.
So I made the toughest decision of my life.
I took a step back and I stopped struggling. As I always did, I’ll keep on working hard for another opportunity but at a different pace.
Is this the end? NO! This is just the beginning.
Here I am: Celeste Collins, an Italian fiction and comedy writer, with a preference for Dolce Vita stories set in Italy during Fifties and Sixties.
I have two novels finished and edited. That’s it.
I’ll let you know what happens next!
dolce vitaCarissimi lettori, sono davvero spiacente per non aver postato nulla nel mio blog da più di un mese.
Chiedo venia, ma è stato come essermi smarrita per un po’ nelle mie ambizioni di scrittrice.
A dire il vero, mi sono persa tempo fa, ma oramai mi sono ripresa.
Per due anni ho lavorato ogni giorno sui miei romanzi.
Ho perso il conto di tutto ciò cui ho dovuto rinunciare, dopo aver preso la decisione di dedicarmi seriamente alla scrittura. Ho ancora davanti agli occhi l’immagine di me stessa seduta al computer, con mio figlio che giocava nel seggiolone accanto a me.
Scrivevo quotidianamente, cominciando la mattina presto quando il resto della famiglia dormiva, e non mi fermavo neppure la domenica, a Natale o a Pasqua.
Mi sono presa una piccola vacanza soltanto la scorsa estate, quando il caldo e l’afa mi hanno fatto perdere la concentrazione.
Non è che voglia vantarmi o sembrare un’eroina, ma avevo trovato una spinta fortissima a darmi da fare vedendo l’interesse che alcune persone legate al mondo dell’editoria avevano mostrato per le mie storie.
Non avrei mai potuto deluderle e, desiderando ardentemente rappresentare l’ideale di scrittrice che cercavano, a loro ho detto sì, sì e ancora sì, manco fossi la Gertrude dei Promessi Sposi davanti alla prospettiva del monacato.
Sì alle loro richieste, sì ai loro tempi, sì alle loro visioni.
E sapete cosa è accaduto alla fine?
Lentamente ho perso di vista i miei veri obiettivi, tutta presa a trasformarmi nell’incarnazione dei loro desideri.
Ci ho pensato un po’ su e ho preso la decisione più dura della mia vita.
Mi sono tirata indietro per vedere cosa succede.
Continuerò a lavorare sodo come ho sempre fatto, ma lo farò a modo mio.
Sarà la fine? Assolutamente NO! Questo è solo l’inizio.
Eccomi qui: Celeste Collins, scrittrice italiana di commedie sentimentali, con la passione per le storie ambientate negli anni Cinquanta e Sessanta nell’Italia della Dolce Vita. Due romanzi completi ed editati.
Vi terrò informati sulle mie prossime mosse!
audreycome

About Celeste

An italian lover of style and elegance sharing her passions and her positive thoughts. Una italiana, che ama vivere con stile ed eleganza, condivide le sue passioni e le sue riflessioni sulla felicità.

2 responses »

  1. Nice to have you back Celeste and great to know you have two novels finished and edited.
    Buona fortuna 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you! I’m happy to have met you again.
      Writing is just the half part of the job. Now I’m taking some time to study the market and to define my professional profile. No need to rush!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

